Advertisement 87
Advertisement 211
Advertisement 219
Skinny Fabulous shows off his thee AMPs.
Skinny Fabulous shows off his thee AMPs.

Vincentian soca heavyweight Skinny Fabulous dominated the first St. Vincent and the Grenadines Association of Music Professionals (SVG AMP) Awards  — “The Vincentian Grammy’s and Oscars” — in Kingstown on Friday.

The five-time National Soca Monarch, whose hit song, “The General”, won him the National Soca Monarch and Road March titles last year, won three awards, the most bagged by any artiste Friday night.

National Calypso Monarch, Skarpyon, won two awards, including for “Until”, the calypso that did not earn him a place in the 2013 finals initially, although he went on to win the crown with that as one of his two winning compositions.

Ishan, who died early last year, was given a posthumous award for the Reggae Single of the Year.

Skinny Fabulous won the award for Best Soca Single of the Year, for which “Show Me Yo Wuk Up” by Shaney Hypez, and Kieth Currency’s “Pat It” were also nominated.

Advertisement 21

He also took the award for Entertainer of the Year, ahead of foreign-based Vincentian artistes, Marlon Roudette and Kevin Lyttle.

Skinny’s “The General” also won the judges’ nod for the Record (Song) of the Year, outdoing “Ah Ketch It”, by Fya Empress, and  “Show Me Yo Wuk Up”.

Meanwhile, in addition to winning the award for the Best Calypso Single of the Year, Skarpyon won the award in the Ragga Soca category.

In gaining that title, he outdid Fya Empress’ “Ah Ketch It Artiste”, which won the Ragga Soca Monarch title last year, even as Skarpyon’s now award-winning “Hammer N Conch” was second in the competition, which, like the Calypso, and Soca Monarch shows, formed part of Vincy Mas 2013. The other nominee in that category was Rosario’s “Ah Free”.

The other results from the show are as follows:

Reggae Single of the Year: Refugee Camp Artiste by Ishan

Other nominees: They Call It Love by Melissa and “Loving You” by Ms Paige

Hip Hop/R&B Single of the Year: “Beautiful Nightmare” by Prez

Other nominees: “Corner Block” by New Starz and “Champagne Pain” by Wess Pahm

Dancehall Single of the Year: “Left Overs” by First Lady

Other nominees: “Best Friend” by Dymez and “Stand Strong” by Wizzy song title

Christmas Single of the Year: “Girlyn” by Luta

Other nominees: “Gift For Santa” by Rolly Bowman and “Promises” by CP Hall

Universal Song of the Year:  “I’m Not A Robot” by Sarah Mark

Other nominees: “Life’s Too Short” by Amanda Gooding and New Age by Marlon Roudette

Gospel Artiste of the Year: Kyoka Cruickshank-Jack

Other nominees: Fenton Harry and Bridget Blucher

Best New Artiste (Female): Sarah Mark

Other nominees:  Melissa and Carice Glasgow

Best New Artiste (Male): Keith Currency

Other nominees:  Rosario and Artiste Prez

Best Live Band: Kinetiks

Other nominees:  Ulitimate and Vykins

Best Music Video: “Concrete Jungle” (Director: Akley Olton)

Other nominees:  “I’m Not A Robot” (Director: Akley Olton) and “Beautiful Nightmare” (Director: Young Fross)

DJ of the Year: Captain John

Other nominees: Jude and Scratch

Radio Station of the Year: NBC Radio

Other nominees: Nice Radio and Star Radio

Producer of the Year: Producer Alex Barnwell

Other nominees: Dougal and Mark Cyrus

Musician of the Year: Rodney Small

Other nominees: Amanda Gooding and Zan

Riddim Track of the Year: Oil Stain Riddim

Other nominees: Authority Riddim and Pally Wack Riddim

ECCO Songwriter of the Year: Bomani

Other nominees: Candy Gloster and Hance John

One reply on “Skinny Fabulous dominates SVG AMP awards”