Advertisement 87
Advertisement 211
Kai Marks-Dasent sailing.
Kai Marks-Dasent sailing.

The St Vincent and the Grenadines Sailing Association held its national championships on Dec. 17 at Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina, supported by the National Lottery, National Olympic Committee and Trident-UK.

Twenty young sailors from across the country competed to be crowned national champion in two classes of boats — the “Optimist” and the “Olympic ILCA 6”.

A full day of 20 races took place in Blue Lagoon and Calliaqua Bay with bright sunshine and strong trade winds.

Jamark Sailing
Jamark Osbourne sailing.

The Optimist fleet was a close contest between Tegan Deane and Kai Marks-Dasent. The final race saw Marks-Dasent crossing the finish line first, to claim the title. Lamont Gregg came in 3rd place, with Deane taking first girl.

In the Olympic ILCA6 class, there was great rivalry between the sailors, who have been training at different clubs. This was a great opportunity to put that training to the test. Jamark Osbourne came out on top, crossing the finish line 2 seconds ahead of Royal Boatswain, to clinch the championship. Orion Ollivierre came in 3rd and Scarlett Hadley took first female.

Advertisement 271

“We would like to say a special thank you to the family and friends of the sailors who made the event happen, on and off the water,” the association said in a release.

Jamark and Kai champions
Champions Jamark Osbourne and Kai Marks-Dasent.

“SVG Sailing Association is committed to a sailing program that teaches sailing skills within the community. The main aim is to have fun, but also to discover talent, be it to represent SVG in international competitions or to gain vocational qualifications for careers in the industry,” the release said.

The final results:


1st Jamark Osbourne, Junior Sailing Academy Bequia

2nd Royal Boatswain, Vincy Sailing Club, St Vincent

3rd Orion Ollivierre, Bequia Veterans Sailing and Sports Culture Club

1st Female: Scarlett Hadley, Vincy Sailing Club


1st Kai Marks-Dasent, Vincy Sailing Club

2nd Tegan Deane, Vincy Sailing Club

3rd Lamont Gregg, Junior Sailing Academy, Bequia

1st Female Tegan Deane, Vincy Sailing Club