Saturday, 29 April 2017 09:10:43 (AST)


Team Athletics SVG elects new executive

Team Athletics St. Vincent and the Grenadines (TASVG) held its Quadrennial General Meeting last month.

At that meeting the following persons were elected to serve on TASVG’s Executive for the next four years:

The executive is as follows:

Keith Joseph, President
Rosmund N. Griffith, Vice President
Tyrone James, General Secretary
Jacintha Ballantyne, Treasurer
Rawlson Morgan, Games Secretary
Andrea David, Assistant Secretary Treasurer
Samantha Goodluck, Debbie Jordan, Alrick Wright, Committee Members
Chester Morgan, Technical Director
Theon Gordon, Coaches’ Representative
Josh Hamilton, Athletes’ Representative
Sheva Butcher, Athletes’ Representative (Alternate)

The new executive met on Dec. 18 and reviewed the organization’s performance over the last four years. TASVG has identified the need to have strong community-based clubs that will provide a more sustained use of limited resources and provide a larger support and hopefully financial base for the clubs.

A club in this context must have a constitution and an executive, Team Athletics SVG said in a release.

“Some successes must also be recognized such as Natasha Mayers winning the 100 metre gold at Commonwealth 2010 and more recently Kineke Alexander getting gold and bronze in the 200m and 400m respectively at the 2013 Central American and Caribbean Senior Games in Mexico, promising performances from Shafiqua Maloney, Roberto and Reuberth Boyde and Linda McDowall and continued efforts by Pamentos Ballantyne,” the release said.

“These definitely indicate that St. Vincent and the Grenadines not only has the talent but also the coaching capacity to break into the global sporting arena,” the release further said.

TASVG will be having its first event, the Throws Classic, on Saturday at the Arnos Vale Playing Field from 9:30 a.m. to noon.

About I-Witness News

iWitness News is the leading source of daily and breaking news and current affairs information from and about St. Vincent and the Grenadines. We were founded in February 2009 by Kenton X. Chance, a career journalist and adhere to the highest standards of journalism.