Advertisement 87

Advertisement 298
bequia basketball association
Front row: Michael Peniston, Monica Peters, Sabrina Mitchell, Vanessa Browne, Keithroy Lavia. Back row: Anthony Sargeant, Mark Hutchins, Colson Peters, Shem Ollivierre, Cornelius Farrell, Kelan Edwards.

BEQUIA, The Grenadines — Sabrina Mitchell has been re-elected unopposed as president of the Bequia Basketball Association to serve another two-year term.

The Bequia Basketball Association held its Annual General Meeting and Elections on Wednesday at the Bequia District Council in Port Elizabeth.

Thirty persons, representing 15 teams attended the meeting, the agenda of which included presentation of the financial statements for the last fiscal year, reports on the past year, and discussions and preparations for the 14th Annual Championship, from July 14 to Sept. 2.

Former Games Secretary Cornelius Farrell was elected un-opposed as Vice-President and newcomer Vanessa Browne as General Secretary while Colson Peters was re-elected un-opposed as Treasurer.

Michael Peniston took up the Games Secretary position, while teacher Anthony Sargeant filled the position of Assistant Secretary-Treasurer.

Advertisement 21

Monica Peters was re-elected unopposed as Public Relations Officer. Mark Hutchins was selected as the Players’ Representative while Shem Ollivierre, Keithroy Lavia, and Kelan Edwards were selected as Committee Members.

Bequia Basketball currently has 180 registered players, 72 of whom are in the Under-16 Category.

Mitchell is also secretary-general on the Caribbean Basketball Confederation Executive and is a central board member on the FIBA Americas Executive.

She is also a board member of Adonal Foyle’s Kerosene Lamp Foundation.

Follow our FeedFollow on FacebookFollow on Twitter