Advertisement 87
Advertisement 323
coronavirus 1

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Commerce, on Friday, said that in response to the expanding novel coronavirus, Taiwan, South Korea and Japan have expedited certain measures for persons travelling to these countries.

The Taiwan embassy in Kingstown has advised that as a response to the coronavirus to safeguard public health security and strengthen management of the flow of people entering Taiwan, travellers who transit through China, Hong Kong and Macau and granted entry into Taiwan will be required to be under home quarantine for 14 days.

South Korea has implemented a health questionnaire form for persons entering the country after either staying in or passing through a “quarantinable disease risk area”. This form must be completed and submitted to quarantine officials.  Failure to do so may incur a fine of up to 10 million South Korean won.

The Government of Japan has also designated the novel coronavirus as “quarantinable infectious diseases” under the Quarantine Act of Japan.  Therefore, foreign nationals who are travelling to Japan and are suspected of being afflicted with the novel coronavirus would be ordered to be quarantined with no exception for valid visa holders.

“Persons travelling to or in transit through the countries mentioned above are kindly asked to take note of the aforementioned advisory,” Kingstown said.

Advertisement 21