Advertisement 87
Advertisement 323
cricket bat and ball
Advertisement 219

St. JOHN’S, Antigua — The Caribbean will be the epicentre of the cricket World next June, when two of the World’s leading teams visit for a three-nation One-day International tournament.

Hosts West Indies will face down with reigning One-day World champions Australia and current World No.3 South Africa in a 10-match tournament over a three-week period from June 6 to 26.

“This tournament promises to be very exciting with two of the World’s top teams coming to the Caribbean,” said WICB Manager, Cricket Operations Roland Holder.

“It will provide a golden opportunity for our team to test themselves against two of the best sides in the World in the ODI format.”

The Tournament opens with round-robin matches contested at the Guyana National Stadium before the teams travel to Basseterre in St. Kitts for another series of matches at Warner Park with the series moving to the Barbados capital of Bridgetown for the final round of matches at Kensington Oval, culminating with the Final.

Advertisement 271

“Australia won the ICC Cricket World Cup on home soil earlier this year and South Africa are highly ranked in this format, but are also the No.1 side in Tests,” said Holder. “These two sides have shared some fascinating rivalries not only in the ODI, but other formats of the international game in recent years.

“The regional audience, therefore, will have a rare chance to attend and see this strong rivalry played out before their eyes, so we expect them to pack the three venues and bring the noise and colour associated with the game in the region.”

  • June 6: Australia vs South Africa – Guyana National Stadium, Guyana
  • June 8: West Indies vs South Africa – Guyana National Stadium
  • June 10: West Indies vs Australia – Guyana National Stadium
  • June 13: South Africa vs Australia – Warner Park, St. Kitts
  • June 15: West Indies vs South Africa – Warner Park
  • June 17: West Indies vs Australia – Warner Park
  • June 20: Australia vs South Africa – Kensington Oval, Barbados
  • June 22: West Indies vs South Africa – Kensington Oval
  • June 24: West Indies vs Australia – Kensington Oval
  • June 26: The Final – Kensington Oval