Advertisement 328
Advertisement 211
cricket bat and ball
Advertisement 219

Teachers the Credit Union North East Masters retained the SVG Masters 20/20 cricket competition title by defeating RSVG Police Masters by 50 runs in the final of the competition played at the Sion Hill Playing Field on Sunday.

Batting first on a good pitch and in sunny conditions, Teachers Credit Union North East Masters reached 180/4 from their 20 overs as they plundered 89 runs from the last five overs.

They were led by Deighton Butler 60*, Rawle Baptiste 38, Elton “Busta” Williams 28 and Alison Dublin 22.

Elgin Richards came in for a real hammering as he ended with 2/66 from his four overs.

RSVG Police Masters at their turn at the crease were restricted to 30/ 8 off their 20 overs with Jeffrey LaBorde 32 and Elgin Richards 31 leading the batting. Veteran legspinner Olanzo Jackson 3/25 and Deighton Butler 2/28 were the leading wicket-takers in bowling their team to victory.

Advertisement 21

The 2017 Svg Masters 20/20 Cricket Competition

Prizes & Awards

Most runs: (Trophy) Harvey Pope of TCU North East Masters (230 runs)

Most wickets: (Trophy) Elmore Alexander of RSVG Police Masters (16 wickets)

Five-wicket takers:

Michael Jack: 5 wickets for 20 runs for AR&G Ptani Masters vs JG & Sons Glamorgan Masters

Elmore Alexander: 5 wickets for 26 runs for RSVG Police Masters vs Computec Belfongo Masters

Century maker – Alison Dublin 107 for TCU North East Masters vs North Leeward Masters

Player of the final: Deighton Butler of TCU North East Masters

Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament: Elgin Richards of RSVG Police Masters

Winner Zone A: Teachers Credit Union North East Masters

Winner Zone B: RSVG Police Masters

2nd Place Team: RSVG Police Masters

2017 Champions: Teachers Credit Union North East Masters