Advertisement 87
Advertisement 323
Basketball coaches
Advertisement 219

The St. Vincent and the Grenadines Basketball Federation (SVGBF) recently concluded the first phase of its Development of a National Sports Structure programme.

The first segment of the three-part programme, which is sponsored by Olympic Solidarity, ended on Friday.

It began on Jan. 13 with a two-day introductory coaching course that saw 17 participants from across SVG, eight of whom completed the programme.  

It then progressed with World Association of Basketball Coaches (WABC) FIBA Level 1 Coaching Course. This course is the only FIBA-recognised basketball-coaching course.

The course saw participants engaging in in-class theoretical sessions and on-court practical sessions and individual presentations by the coaches.

Advertisement 271

Coach Nelson Isley, a FIBA WABC certified instructor, facilitated the course. Isley will also supply an assessment report to the SVGBF to be shared with the government and private stakeholders.

“This is to spark the political and social community will towards assisting basketball with funding for the renovations and development of the basketball sporting facilities across SVG. Most of these facilities are in very deplorable conditions,” the SVGBF said in a statement.

At the closing ceremony, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer of the SVGBF, Winston Snagg reminded participants that the president had predicted 100% pass for the coaches undertaking the certification.

He further implored the coaches to use their knowledge and skills to the continued development of the sport.

Kendale Thomas, first vice-president of the SVGBF charged the coaches to use their knowledge, experience and qualification towards propelling the sport of basketball in SVG.

He further echoed the encouragement to work collaboratively for the advancement of the sport.

All eight coaches who completed the course were declared competent.

They are: (from left to right in photo): Bernard Billy, Vasha Adams, Aubrey “Darwin” Vanloo, Conrad Simon, Wayne Williams, Westfield Williams, Solan Frederick and Kendale Thomas. (Coach Nelson Isley is seated).