Advertisement 87
Advertisement 211
140604 ebola jms 2056 3e7dc8ce565edef88b6a25cf5a030246

The latest outbreak of the Ebola virus has killed 6,388 persons, mainly in Africa. (Internet photo)

Advertisement 219

The Ministry of Health announced on Monday that in order to prevent the entry of the Ebola viral disease into St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) persons travelling to SVG from Guinea, Sierra Leone or Liberia or those who have visited any of the aforementioned countries during a 28-day period will not be allowed entry into SVG.

Persons travelling to SVG from Nigeria or any other West African country or those who visited any of the aforementioned countries during a 28-day period must present upon entry at any port of entry to SVG a negative blood test result for Ebola (done not more than 7 days prior to leaving their home country to come to SVG) in order to be allowed entry into SVG, the ministry further said.

The ministry said it has secured the commitment of each of the four medical schools in SVG, the Trinity University School of Medicine, All Saints University, American University of St Vincent and St James School of Medicine.

“The Ministry of Health, Wellness and the Environment advises all citizens that the nation’s risk remains low, based on the evaluation of the Pan American Health Organisation.

The Ministry of Health, Wellness and the Environment also advises all citizens that all agreed decisions and activities re: the management of Ebola are consistent with those of other CARICOM countries,” the ministry.

Advertisement 271

The Ebola virus disease or Ebola hemorrhagic fever is a disease of humans and other primates caused by an ebolavirus.

Symptoms start two days to three weeks after contracting the virus, with a fever, sore throat, muscle pain and headaches.

Typically, vomiting, diarrhea and rash follow, along with decreased functioning of the liver and kidneys. Around this time, affected people may begin to bleed both within the body and externally.

Advertisement 128

One reply on “SVG to deny entry to persons who visited Ebola affected countries”