Advertisement 87
Advertisement 211

T20 champs-Country Meet Town Outa Trouble.

Country Meet Town Outa Trouble won the 2016 SVG Police Co-operative Credit Union Clinchers T20 Softball championship with a comprehensive 97-victory over Sion Hill Tallawahs in the final on Sunday at the Richland Park Oval.

SCORES: Country Meet Town Outa Trouble148 in 19.5 overs, Sion Hill Tallawahs 51 in 17.4 overs.

Winning the toss and taking first knock, Country Meet Town Outa Trouble were led by player of the final Asif Hooper’s 40 as well as captain Javed Harry and Sunil Ambris 20 each.

Hooper, batting at number six, struck 5 sixes and 1 four. Shanley Lavia took 4/31 and Shamic Roberts 3/26 bowling for Sion Hill Tallawahs.

Asif Hooper The Top All-Rounder And Player Of The Final.
Asif hooper the top all-rounder and player of the final.

Set a target of just over 7 runs an over, Sion Hill caved in for 51 with Irwin Williams getting a topscore of 20.

Advertisement 21

Richie Richards 4/12, Asif Hooper 2/6, Westrick Straugh 2/21 and Shimroy Primus the amazing figures of 2/1 from 4 overs did the damage for Country Meet Town Outa Trouble.

In the third place play-offs, Owia Young Strikers defeated Nice Radio Clinchers by 58 runs.

SCORES: Owia Young Strikers 108 in 15 overs, Kenford Collins 37, Denson Hoyte 24, Oheyon Toby 3/21, Nice Radio Clinchers 50 in 13.3 overs, Denson Hoyte 5/7.

The winners collected EC$2,000, the losing finalists EC$1,500, the third place team EC$1,000 and the team finishing fourth, EC$400.

Leading Wicket-Taker, Shanley Lavia Collecting Trophy From President Of Clinchers, Pearlina Thomas.
Leading wicket-taker, shanley lavia collecting trophy from president of clinchers, pearlina thomas.

Meanwhile, awards presented at the closing ceremony, We Comeback Street Fighter Ozzni Billingy, for the second year in succession, took the award as the leading run-scorer in the tournament with 177 runs.

Shanley Lavia of Sion Hill Tallawahs with 28 wickets was the leading wicket-taker, with Asif Hooper the top all-rounder and Player of the Final, Best wicketkeeper was Delano Woodley of Smashers, Most Sixes Roderick John RSVG Police with 22 sixes.

Carlos James of Country Meet Town Outa Trouble was named Manager of the Tournament for a second year running, Damar Williams was adjudged the most promising young player, Anthony Garrick the best umpire. Smart Strikers picked up awards for the Most Disciplined Team and the Best Uniformed team, while Best Banner went to Rogers Photo Studios Fya 1.

The sponsors, media houses, as well as individuals who contributed to the tournament over the last five years were recognised at Sunday’s closing.

Advertisement 128